The NaNoWriMo Preparation

(This weekend, I was laid up with feminine ills whose description I shall spare you.  Please forgive me for lack of updates!)

National Novel Writing Month, or NaNoWriMo, will soon be upon us…and I find myself uncertain as to what to write!

The Awesome

First, let me tell you about the awesome that is NaNoWriMo!  If you have been following me for the past couple of years, you know all about my love for this challenge.

As much as I like story-writing, I have to admit that, more times than not, it’s hella-difficult to actually sit down and do the writing.  I could give plenty of excuses – video games, reading, Halloween – but the truth isn’t that simple.  The truth is, it’s sometimes just uber-hard to do the one thing you love most in the world.

But more on that later.  For now, all you need to know is the basics:  50,000 words in 30 days.

You read that right.

The challenge is to write a 50,000-word (or more!) novel within the month of November.  From midnight of the first to midnight of the last, it’s a crazy, fun, interesting, stressful challenge that I highly recommend!

For more details, you can see the site itself linked up above.  :)

The Whinging

This time last year, I was full to BURSTING with creative energy and output!  I had just begun taking my much-needed medication again, was really getting into Halloween, and had the story I wanted to write rattling around in my head.

This year, I still have stories rattling around, perhaps more so now than before, but I find myself a little afraid.  It isn’t that I don’t think I CAN write – I won NaNo last year, and one of the Camp NaNos this past summer – it’s more that I don’t know WHAT to write.  Where in this gigantic, confusing storyline do I begin?  There’s so many places I could start!  Do I start at the very beginning, and go from there?  Or do I go to the last story – which is already planned out – and write THAT?

I just am so uncertain as to what to do.  It’s like I can see how it all fits together in general, but I’m somewhat afraid of actually bringing it about.

Why fear of success has to be a thing with me now is beyond me, but there it is.

CAN I write?  Yes!!

Can I write WELL?  I hope so!!

Can I write well enough to gain an awesome fan-base that will cheer me and my characters on in their endeavors, and who will wait with bated breath for every release of the next book?

I don’t know.

It’s a weird position to want something so badly, and yet be completely terrified of it coming true at the same time.  x_x;;;

Maybe I’ll just start with the first story, and see where it goes from there.

 

6 thoughts on “The NaNoWriMo Preparation

  1. Pingback: ’twas the night before halloween « Lissa's Long Yarn

  2. Pingback: National Novel Writing Month « My Two Cents

  3. Pingback: *Women Who Write – A little NaNO Inspiration « bridgesburning

  4. Pingback: TOMORROW IS THE BIG DAY! | The Nightmare Never Ends

  5. Pingback: When we are unsure, « Toward the within…

  6. Pingback: November 1st begins the 30 day Challenge! « Dancing with Fireflies

Leave a Reply

