I discovered the book series 50 Shades of Gray the old-fashioned way:  First I saw it in the bookstore, and then a friend who read and loved all three books recommended it to me.

It wasn’t until after that, and after I started reading a free sample of the first two chapters from the Kindle store, that I learned how big of a controversy it had become, at least in the Christian world.

Much like The Da Vinci Code and Harry Potter debacles, I was confused about the controversy, or why some Christians were condemning it as the worst thing since wearing Crocs to worship service.

On the one hand, we have the Christian world, which is struggling to deal with sexual issues that haven’t been discussed in the congregation for a very long time.

On the other hand, I see a secular book that’s popular in a secular world, mostly with secular women – a cheesy romance novel, with a little BDSM thrown in, written for whoever likes cheesy romance novels.

In the end, it’s not my thing; I’m much happier with re-reading Foundation by Isaac Asimov.  I found the writing on par with that of Twilight, which I only read the first book of.  (Again, one that was recommended by a friend before the controversy hit.)

QUESTION:  What do you think of “50 Shades” and the controversy?  Do you think it’s okay for Christians to read?  Or should it be avoided?

Leave a Reply

