Writing is hard.

Wait; scratch that.

Sitting down specifically to write is hard.

Whether it’s a blog post or a fictional story, I’m finding it more and more difficult to sit down and work on anything.  Perhaps this is partly because turning a fun escape into one’s profession is a daunting task.  What I once used as an escape from real life problems has now become a real life problem!

I still enjoy writing; once I get going, I don’t want to stop!

But, it’s the actual act of sitting down and ignoring everything else in order to write that seems to be the problem.  There are just So.  Many.  Distractions.

This is not the least of them! ❤

Whether it’s arguing whether or not lingerie is racist or reading about the 35 most disturbing Halloween costumes ever created, I just have a hard time of, when I’m sitting at the computer, actually doing any meaningful writing.

Then again, I had an interesting idea the other day; since my computer is hardwired into the Internet (I. E., it’s not wireless), I *could*, theoretically, just completely unplug when I sit down to write!  Just reach right around there, take out that cord that leads to the Shiny Things, and go from there.

One thing I did last year for NaNoWriMo was, when it was time to write, I closed and locked my door, to keep out ALL distractions!

Even super cute fuzzy ones.

Along with that, however, there’s the panic of “Which story do I work on?!”  and “What if all this work is for nothing?!”  It’s these kinds of thoughts that are, of course, the absolute worst distractions of them all.

But if I can beat them down (or at least twirl around them in a fancy way), then maybe…just maybe…I can get something published and out there before I’m 90!

Question of the Day:  Are you a writer or artist?  What is or are your biggest distraction/s?  What do you struggle with when it comes to practicing your craft?

Leave a Reply

