Forgive me, boys and girls, for my absence!  I’ve been hard at work with word-smithing, that age-old endeavor of wringing words from the air for the sake of the story.

In other words, I’ve been busy with NaNoWriMo.

For those who don’t know, NaNoWriMo is short for National Novel Writing Month.  Basically, during the month of November, you attempt to write 50,000 words towards a novel from midnight on November 1st all the way to midnight on November 30th!  You can sign up any time, it’s totally free, and probably the best thing to come along for my writing in the history of forever.

This time around, I’m working on Book 1 of my series.  I realized sometime last year that I was actually working on Book II, and that it couldn’t be fully fleshed-out until I made some real progress on Book I.

I haven’t decided whether or not to publish any of these books.  Don’t get me wrong; I DO want to be published!  But I’m beginning to wonder if I want to hang on to these particular stories for a while longer, and wait until I’m established as a PUBLISHED author, as someone who gets paid for her stories, before I unleash all of …. THAT … on the world.

Because once it’s published, that’s it.  There’s no more work to be done on it.

I feel like I’m beginning to understand how Stephen King felt about his Dark Tower stories.  They were precious to him in a way the other books he wrote weren’t, necessarily.

But hey, if he can write a transdimentinal opus about old-style cowboys and modern drug addicts, I suppose I can write about ….

Well, you’ll see.  😉

***Question:  Are you doing NaNoWriMo?  What’s your novel about?***

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: Week 2

Leave a Reply

