PLANNING

I am a great planner.  I can plan like nobody’s business!

But actually sticking to said plan, now  that’s something else entirely!

Inevitably, if I set an alarm to go off at a certain time, I will hit the snooze button, wondering in my half-asleep brain why in all of creation I set it for so early.  It won’t be until I’ve finally been awake for a while that I’ll realize why I set it for that time, and what I meant to do.

This is about the time that I start feeling really down on myself.  What kind of weak person lets sleep get the better of them?  Surely I can manage a simple thing like getting up when the alarm goes off!

These kinds of thoughts continue until I’m downright stymied with self-pity, and I’m having myself a nice old fashioned party while wallowing in my own low self-esteem.

Thus, I’m going to endeavor to stop feeling sorry for myself, and take control of my day.  Even though I stayed up until 3 AM (a luxury often only bestowed on the jobless or night job person), I’m going to endeavor to stay up the rest of the day.

Instead of wallowing in self-pity if I do in fact give in to the very basic need of rest, I’m not going to feel sorry for myself.  If I’m still up at midnight, I’m going to do laundry.  Or, I’ll write.  I’ll put down the controller and leave Fallout:  New Vegas and Fallout 3 for another time.

I’ll do the things I well-intended to do during the day, except at night.

What’s more, I’ll try once again to make a plan that works.  One that’s simple, manageable, and above all, realistic.

A plan very similar to what Jim Franklin is doing over on his blog, Write Way Around.  

My list won’t be as extensive as his, nor will it be as bold as Jon Acuff’s.  But, it will exist, and I will endeavor to accomplish it.

But only by God’s Will, and His Blessing, because I just don’t have it in me to keep with it on my own.  (What I’m saying is that yes, I need divine intervention to help me out, folks.  🙂 )

When the list is finished, I’ll share it with you good folks.

Viva la 2013!

QUESTION FOR YOU FOLKS:

What is your plan for the upcoming year?  The upcoming month?  Week?  Next 24 hours?  

Leave a Reply

