COLD MEDICINE

For most of this week, my body has been trying to catch a cold.  It’s no surprise; the weather down here in Dixieland has been pretty nasty.  First cold, then unusually warm, then freezing rain for a few days followed by real cold weather.

It’s when the weather does its schizophrenic thing that I usually catch something.  I could almost set a clock by it, it’s that predictable!

So yesterday morning, around 9 AM, I’m just sitting at my desk working on stuff ‘n’ things, when a coughing fit shows up out of nowhere.  And it’s not one of these “I just drank something and it went down the wrong way” kind of coughs.  It’s a “Holy cow, did I just cough up a lung?” kind.

Thus started the epic battle between me and my body.  One thing I loathe more than anything else, perhaps even traffic, is being sick.  I’m no fan of pain, and don’t like being held down by anything, much less my own body!

After taking beaucoup of vitamin C supplements, plenty of hot throat soothing tea flavored with honey, eating chicken noodle soup, and getting plenty of rest yesterday….I still felt funky later that night.

There was only one thing left to do.

I didn’t want to.

I knew the ramifications.

But there was nothing else for it.

I had….to take Nyquil.

I took it early enough, around 9:30 PM.  Unfortunately, acetametaphine and I do not have a good relationship.  Or, rather, our relationship is too good!  It knocks me out, sure.

For nearly 24 hours.

Not.  Kidding.

I will always try to fight against it.  I’ll try to force myself to get up, to drink caffeine and eat a hearty meal so I can get back to stuff ‘n’ things,  but it never works.  The only thing for it is to sleep it off.

I don’t fair much better with Dayquil, either.  Perhaps not quite as sleepy, but still ridiculously, I-shouldn’t-be-driving, why-is-there-a-fairy-sitting-on-my-unicorn groggy.

So that’s why I haven’t updated until today.  🙂

But fear not, dear Readers!  For I have updated my newest project, Green Tea To Go!, wherein Kitty Awesome has also fallen ill due to her overlong trip, but must forage in a foreign land for basic necessities regardless!  What wonders will she encounter in the markets of Sad River City?!  We shall soon see…

That being said, if there’s a nerdy, geeky, or just plain weird topic you’d like me to expound on, please comment below.  I LOVE COMMENTS!!!!

Leave a Reply

