STEPHEN KING QUOTE

For as long as I can remember, Stephen King has been a part of my fictional world.

Not literally, of course; I do not personally know the man, nor have I spoken to him.  I’ve never been to a book signing of his.  The closest I’ve gotten to meeting him is a rather twitchy woman in an auto repair shop in Dixielad claiming to have known him once.  Intimately.  (Like I said…she was twitchy.)

Despite this, I feel like I might as well have known him personally, for as much as his fiction has been a part of my family’s library since long before I was born.  So, when I say I was somewhat raised around SK, I want you to understand my full meaning.

For a long time, SK’s material freaked me out, partially due to reactions from family, and partially because the man’s stories are often quite freaky.  It wasn’t until my late twenties that I decided to give his novels a real go, starting with The Dark Tower.

So.  Much.  Wasted.  Time.  I could have been reading him all along!  I could have started realizing that the craziest novel ideas are often the best, no matter how crappy I may think they are.

I could have realized, too, that just because a book has foul language in it occasionally doesn’t mean it should be avoided at all costs.  As a young Christian, this is what I believed:  Avoid it all, because it may cause you yourself to slip up, to say a word that may be displeasing to the Lord.

Don’t misunderstand me; I don’t think God likes foul language any more than I do, but I *do* think there’s such a thing as taking things too far.  What SK’s books did for me, I couldn’t have found in a Christian book store.  And trust me, I tried.  Hard.

But the same rawness, the same delving into the darkest part of humanity to find that the light still exists, the same assurance that mere humans can still conquer evil….I couldn’t find that in Lifeway.

Is there foul language?  Of course!  But if I’m going to try and completely avoid foul language, I’d have to actively avoid all my family members.  And that’s simply not what Christ has called me to do.

Is there disturbing imagery?  Ohh, man, like you wouldn’t believe!  But, let’s be honest with ourselves:  The Bible itself has disturbing imagery.  (If you’ve never sat down and really visualized some of the more violent, disturbing things in the Bible, I highly recommend it.  Sit down, and really think about what happened during the ten plagues of Egypt.  Look up pictures of boils, or think about what a swarm of locusts would look and feel like.  It will completely change your perspective.)

But, along with all of that, there’s also the story of Good vs. Evil.  Of overcoming fear with courage.  Of standing up to that bully.  So on and so forth.

Will these books help you in your walk with Christ?  I honestly can’t answer that.  I *can* say that they haven’t turned me into a demon-worshiping Satanist yet…but they’ve definitely put the fear of evil in me, as well as a healthy appreciation for all things of the Light.

And, in the end, isn’t that what a good book is supposed to do for Christians?

Question For The Reader:  What Stephen King books/movies have you read/seen?  Did you enjoy them?  Did they scare you?  Analyze that fear!

4 thoughts on “Stephen King Isn’t A Satanist

  1. Oooh, ooooh, I know I’m late to this but Stephen King is my all time favorite writer! As far as my favorite book, it’s most everything he’s ever done (except Tommyknockers and some other book where he rambles so long I forgot what I was reading).

    Bu he’s brilliant and IMO so underrated. I know a lot of people like him and all, but it seems so few people actually recognize how much talent it takes to be him, how he has mastered the craft of writing without any formal training and how genius that actually is. I’ve read so many books where the person is said to be a master and the books themselves are tremendously hard to get through. I call is “poetic” writing – where I can see the talent you display by reading the words you string together and I get it, I do. But my God you couldn’t be more boring in your plot if you tried and please, please get to the point of your story at some point. King 95% of the time walks that line perfectly between beautifully structuring sentences where the figurative language effortlessly forms complex pictures in your mind, yet somehow knowing when to shut up and go somewhere else. Anyway, love him. LOVE him.

    And then the other reason I’m writing is to say hello and I hope everything is going well in your life. It was nice to read your comments on SCL the other day.

    1. Hey there! 😀 And you’re not late; I just posted this a few days ago.

      Yeah, he’s EXCELLENT. I’m reading his book “On Writing” now. Instead of telling folks how to write, it’s basically his story of how he became a writer. I love it!

      He attributes a lot of his success to his editors, which I can understand! One thing I’d love to find is a really good editor to reign in my own never-ending opus. I think it’s all too easy for us writers to get carried away with ourselves! lol

      And, things are good. 🙂 My last post is all about what’s been going on here lately. I’m in a much better place than I was, thank God! How about you??

  2. Love “On Writing”. It’s the only thing I have on my bookshelf in which every other pharagraph is highlighted. Just some great practical advice on how to hone the “craft” and whatnot. And his personal lifestory was really interesting to me.

    I’m good. Working part time now instead of solely being at home and it’s going well although I’m much busier. I have 10 pages to go on a second rewrite of a book I’ve done and at the rate I’m going with it, my kids will be in college before I’m ready to show it to anyone. And I’ve worked on it four years already 🙂 Not that I have aspirations of being a professional writer so it’s okay, but I do want it to be done and done to the best of my ability so that I can say I did it. I wrote a book. For whatever reason, that’s important to me even if it sucks probably because I never thought I could do it.

    Glad to hear you’re doing better and I hope everything continues to improve for you until you have exactly what you want.

Leave a Reply

